21 Apr What Requirements Are Needed To Concealed Carry in MA?
There are several different requirements that must be met in order to obtain your concealed carry license in the state of Massachusetts. Below, we will break down what each of these key components entails, as well as the courses we offer to help you get started.
Massachusetts Concealed Carry License Requirements
Below is a list of the requirements in the state of MA to obtain your LTC:
- Be at least 21 years old
- Be a U.S. citizen/legal alien
- Be deemed fit to receive such a license, and have good reason to fear injury to one’s person or property, or for any other reason, including carrying firearms solely for target practice or sport purposes
- Complete a firearms training course
- No juvenile offender record or adjudication of delinquency
- No restraining order or protection order shall be issued, whether temporary or emergency
- No outstanding warrants
- No dishonorable discharge from the armed forces of the United States
- Must not be a fugitive from justice
- Meet federal law requirements
- Initial License & Renewal fee of $100
- Valid for 6 Years
Application Process for Massachusetts Concealed Carry License
Step 1: Take an approved basic firearms safety course.
Step 2: Download the application
Step 3: Contact your local firearms licensing office for its specific requirements.
First-time applicants are required to apply in person at their local police departments and will need to re-apply before the expiration date.
Step 4: You will be notified by your local licensing authority when your firearms license application has been processed.
This will occur either by telephone or by mail. You might need to pick up your firearms license in person.
Courses Offered at Tactical Dynamics to Get You Started
The best course you can take to prepare yourself for your LTC/FID is our MA Gun Safety Course. Our Massachusetts Firearms Safety course covers all that you need in order to get your Massachusetts license to carry in one easy class. This course will cover the following:
- Firearms Safety Rules
- Massachusetts Firearms License types
- The Application Process
- Transportation and Storage of Firearms in Massachusetts
- Ammunition Parts and Their Function
- Firearms Parts and Their Function
- Gun Cleaning
- Fundamentals of Pistol Shooting
Once the classroom presentation is complete students will be able to fire live handguns at the club’s outdoor range.
Contact Us Today
If you would like to learn more about guns, aim practice, or anything in between, contact Tactical Dynamics today. We are more than happy to help prepare you for the future of your LTC/FID. To get started, give us a call at 855-276-5730 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org. We look forward to hearing from you.
Derek SimsPosted at 10:33h, 21 April
Hello there, I had a restraining order issued against me over 20 years ago. I have no felonies, criminal record, and I do have an FID. Would I be qualified to upgrade to an LTC?
Jeff - TacDyn InstructorPosted at 10:39h, 26 April
You should be alright so long as the restraining order is no longer in affect. You’d just want to confirm with your local PD if you can upgrade your license or if you need to retake the safety course. It depends on how long ago your FID was issued.
Firearms License Class in MA - Tactical DynamicsPosted at 10:32h, 15 June
[…] are several different requirements that must be met to obtain your LTC in the state of Massachusetts. Aside from the paperwork and background checks that go along with obtaining an LTC, a Gun Safety […]
RobPosted at 15:46h, 01 November
Good afternoon i have a about a ltc in ma i was convicted of a possesed of controlled subens 39 years ago how wood that affect my chance of obtain a ltc thank for your help
Jeff - TacDyn InstructorPosted at 09:19h, 04 November
Hello. Depending on the disposition and the severity of the charge, you may still be able to obtain a license. I recommend reaching out to your local police department and checking with them if the prior conviction would disqualify you. Good luck.